Kate Sweely Scholarship

Kate Sweely

Kate Linn Sweely was a student at UNC Asheville majoring in atmospheric sciences with a minor in mathematics. She passed away in the summer of 2011 following a cerebral hemorrhage after a short illness just before her junior year. In high school, Kate was known for both her extraordinary academic achievement, particularly in science, and her proven musical talent. During her college years, Kate served as an intern at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, working on a study on particular cloud formations and their impact on climate. She loved all weather-related phenomena and was known for her interest in the societal impacts of weather. She was also a member of the Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society. Kate’s talents were merged with her deep spiritual beliefs. She had a servant’s heart and served as a missionary in a small bush village north of the Arctic Circle. She was a member and president of the Baptist Student Union at UNC Asheville. She also served as worship leader for the ministry and was very active in other campus ministry functions, including prison ministry and Bible study. She had a passion for mission work and had traveled to New Orleans to help with Hurricane Katrina cleanup twice, as well as to many other states yearly to participate in mission work throughout her middle and high school years. Whether it was her beautiful voice, her contagious smile, her friendly personality or her incredible intellect, Kate Sweely touched everyone she met. Her parents, Dr. H. Douglas Sweely and Mrs. Lori Crum-Sweely, have established an endowed scholarship in her honor.

Award Criteria

The Kate Sweely Memorial Scholarship award winner is selected by the faculty members in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences. The recipient must be a rising junior or senior majoring in atmospheric science, must demonstrate financial need as defined by the Office of Financial Aid, and typically maintains a very high GPA among his or her peers. The one-year award generally totals several thousand dollars. There is no application process.

Scholarship Award Winners

  • Steven Rearden, 2022–2024
  • Taylor Ross, 2021–2022
  • Meredith Avison, 2019–2021
  • Ryan Jenkins, 2018–2019
  • Rachel Dunn, 2017–2018
  • Andrea Fenoglio, 2016–2017
  • Jacob Radford, 2015–2016
  • Massey Bartolini, 2014–2015
  • Kelly Gassert, 2013–2014
  • Candice Boling Jordan, 2012–2013